States With the Toughest DUI Laws
Alexander Djerassi is a foreign policy expert on the United States policy towards North America and the Middle East. Djerassi even served as a special assistant to the Secretary of State handling New Eastern Affairs from 2009-2012. He also holds a law degree and would not want anyone to get into trouble, especially for avoidable offenses like driving under the influence. Some U.S states are stricter on DUI because of populous values and public policy. Driving under alcohol or drugs influence has serious ramifications in the states below.
Arizona, like most states, bars drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration of 0.08% or more from driving. However, its laws prohibit driving to drivers impaired to what is called “the slightest degree.” Arizona’s distinction of to the slightest degree is stricter than in other states.
A “not-a-drop “law prohibiting those under 21 years from driving if their body system contains a measurable amount of alcohol is harsh, but Arizona implements it with more enthusiasm.
Additionally, it is possible to be guilty of DUI without driving. Other states cite drivers for DUI if someone is moving a vehicle, but Arizona also includes physical control of a vehicle while impaired. It justifies the law by saying it stops impaired people from attempting to drive.
The fine in the state is one of the highest, even for first-time offenders. Many people in other states also get a mandatory jail term.
Ohio imposes lengthy license suspensions for driving under the influence. It is not unusual for driver′s license for individuals found guilty of DIU to be suspended for even three years. It contrasts to some other states that have not made the suspension of driver’s license mandatory after the DUI offense. If it happens, states like California limit license suspension for first-time DUI offenders to six months.
Ohio is tougher on suspending licenses than many other states like Michigan, Kentucky, New Jersey, Tennesee, and Pennsylvania. Djerassi wants individuals to have it in their mind that they risk losing their licenses for a lengthy period for operating a vehicle in Ohio while under the influence.
Massachusetts, like most states, prevents motorists from driving if their BAC is 0.08 percent or higher. It has a closer version to Arizona′s “slightest degree” because drivers get arrested if police suspect them of driving under the influence.
Most jail time for drivers guilty of DIU happens in the Bay State. Courts can give a sentence of up to two years and six months for first-time offenders.
The drivers face a stricter penalty if found with passengers under 14 years when driving under the influence. Drivers caught with children while under the influence risk a separate conviction for child endangerment. The offense carries a jail term of 90 days to 30 months, a fine of up to $5,000, and license suspension for one year.
Utah State BAC has the lowest BAC limit among all states. Motorists are liable for DUI if found with a BAC of 0.05 percent or higher. Utah categorizes DUI as a class B misdemeanor, but offense goes to class A for impaired drivers who inflict bodily injury to others due to driving under the influence.
A misdemeanor progresses to class A for drivers with passengers under 16 years old in their vehicles. The misdemeanor class distinctions at Utah compare to other states, but the BAC limit is unique. DUI arrests for 0.05% limit are consistently making Utah have one of the toughest DUI laws.
People should not drive after consuming alcohol or drugs, but Alexander Djerassi wants drivers to know that the laws and penalties are harsher in Arizona, Ohio, Massachusetts, and Utah.