Russian counter-sanctions hit UK politicians and media

Cameron, Starmer and Piers Morgan join Johnson and Truss previously authorized.

Moscow on Monday blacklisted 39 British officials, consulting executives and journalists as part of retaliatory measures against London’s “hostile course aimed at demonization”Russia. At the top was David Cameron, former Prime Minister. The list includes Keir Sternmer, Labour leader and prominent members of SNP, Liberal Democrats, Greens. Piers Morgan, an American television personality and journalist is among the top. 

The “pernicious actions of Great Britain in planting Russophobia, spreading false information about our country and supporting the neo-Nazi regime in Kiev will receive an adequate and decisive response”In a statement, the Russian foreign ministry stated that they received this information from Russia.

“The choice in favor of confrontation is a conscious decision of the British political establishment, which bears all responsibility for the consequences,”The ministry stated.

Cameron leads the blacklist, followed by former defense secretary – and later NATO secretary-general – George Robertson, now a life peer and a member of the House of Lords. 

In addition to Starmer, several of Labour’s shadow secretaries – David Lammy, Lisa Nandy and Nick Thomas-Symonds – made the list as well. 

Learn more

Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Belarus to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland Maxim Leonidovich Ermolovich.
UK has withdrawn its envoy to Russia, a key ally of Moscow

The blacklist also includes four members of the Scottish cabinet and three more members of Holyrood – two Greens and a leader of the Liberal Democrats – along with several defense ministry officials and Foreign Office’s spokeswoman Helen Alice Bower-Easton. 

Bringing up the rear are journalists, starting with Times columnist David Aaronovich and Guardian news editor Dan Sabbagh, through Daily Telegraph’s Europe editor James Crisp, Sunday Times’ political editor Caroline Wheeler, Sky News head John Ryley and BBC news director Jonathan Munro. Along with Robert Peston, BBC producer and Huw Edwards, the blacklisted included Edward Carr, deputy editor of Economist and Jerome Starkey (Sun military columnist) and Munro, BBC news director Jonathan Munro. Morgan, listed as “ITV presenter,” was the penultimate name on the list.

They will join Prime Minister Boris Johnson and Foreign Secretary Liz Truss as well as eleven other British officials sanctioned in April. These officials were sanctioned in mid-April. “stop list”They are prohibited from entering Russia.

Given London’s “destructive desire to keep spinning the wheel of sanctions under far-fetched and absurd pretexts,”The work to expand the “stop list”It will be continued, said the foreign minister.



Related Articles

Back to top button