Players Sign Equal Pay Agreements With U.S. Soccer

Representatives for the men’s and women’s U.S. national teams on Tuesday signed their historic collective bargaining agreements with U.S. Soccer, formally closing a long and sometimes acrimonious fight over equal pay.

The federation announced in May that it had struck separate agreements with the players’ unions on contracts that run through 2028. New contracts provide identical pay arrangements for appearances and tournament winners, as well revenue sharing and fair distribution of World Cup prize cash.

A signing ceremony was held following the women’s friendly match against Nigeria at Audi Field in Washington, with Secretary of Labor Marty Walsh among those on hand.

“I have to give a lot of credit to everyone involved, the women’s national team and their PA (players’ association), the men’s national team and their PA, and everyone at U.S. Soccer. There were so many people that helped, that worked together to make this happen,” said U.S. Soccer President Cindy Parlow Cone, herself a former national team player. “And it wouldn’t get pushed over the line without the men jumping in and being on board with equal pay.”

After many years of fighting for equal pay and treatment in the workplace, U.S. Women filed a Federal Gender Discrimination Against U.S. Soccer in 2019. The lawsuit drew international attention, prompting fans to chant “Equal Pay!” when the United States won the Women’s World Cup final in France.

U.S. Soccer paid $24 Million to the female plaintiffs in settlement of the suit. However, the settlement was conditional on new labor arrangements between both sides.

They had been operating under the CBA which expired December 2018, and they were still playing. The women’s CBA expired at the end of March, but talks continued after the lawsuit was settled.

Continue reading: How U.S. Soccer’s Historic Equal Pay Deal Came About

The sticking point in negotiations was World Cup prize money, which is based on how far a team advances in soccer’s most prestigious tournament. While the U.S. women have been successful on the international stage with back-to-back World Cup titles, differences in FIFA prize money meant they took home far less than the men’s winners. American women were awarded a $110,000 bonus to win the 2019 World Cup. The U.S. men received $470,000 if they won 2018.

The unions agreed to pool FIFA’s payments for the men’s World Cup later this year and next year’s Women’s World Cup, as well as for the 2026 and 2027 tournaments.

Because the men’s national team players are currently in league play, the CBA was signed by USNSTPA Executive Director Mark Levinstein. Women’s players Crystal Dunn, Becky Sauerbrunn and Sam Mewis also signed, along with USWNTPA Executive Director Becca Roux.

Sauerbrunn spoke to the crowd.

“I want to thank all of you guys for the support, all the social media posts, the messages of support, the chants of `Equal Pay’ at really funny times, showing up at our games. You guys make the difference and you are truly, truly the best fans in the world,” she said.

After the U.S. beat Nigeria 2-1, former players Kristine Lilly and Briana Scurry attended the ceremony on the field. Lori Lindsey was also present.

After the CBAs were accepted, an August federal judge approved preliminary approval of the settlement. The hearing is scheduled for December to complete the settlement.

Read More From Time

Reach out to usSend your letters to


Related Articles

Back to top button