European countries impose restrictions over ‘worst-ever’ Covid-19 strain — Analysis

The new coronavirus strain, which has multiple mutations in South Africa, is causing a number of European countries to suspend air travel from South Africa.

Germany has declared South Africa a “virus variant area,” the country’s health minister Jens Spahn wrote on Twitter. That is exactly what it means “airlines will only be allowed to transport Germans”From the country.

Learn more

New B.1.1.529 Covid variant ‘worst one’ so far, UK says

Spahn stated that any arrivals must be quarantined for 14 days regardless of whether or not they have received all necessary vaccinations against Covid-19.

Similar to South Africa, the Dutch authorities announced a ban on South African flights starting at midnight.

Following a request by the European Union to its members, this follows “stopping air travel”The new virus strain was discovered in the region of southern Africa. The advice of Brussels was also quickly followed by Italy and the Czech Republic.

Rome prohibits all South Africa, Botswana (Lesotho), Botswana (Botswana), Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Namibians arriving in Rome). Prague has also said that non-nationals who recently visited South Africa won’t be allowed into Czechia.

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), the high number of mutations found in this newly discovered variant is a serious concern for how they will affect diagnostics, therapy and vaccinations.

The UK also restricted air travel to and from South Africa and its neighbors, with the country’s Health Security Agency saying that “this is the worst variant we have seen so far.”

Do you like this story? Please share this story with friends!



Related Articles

Back to top button