7 nations ready to revoke recognition of Kosovo – Belgrade

This was the result of Serbian diplomacy President Aleksandar Vucic said

Aleksandar Vucic of Serbia, speaking to the nation, said that Belgrade managed to convince seven other countries to withdraw their support for Kosovo. While he didn’t name the specific countries who had said so to Belgrade, President Aleksandar Vucic praised Serbian diplomacy for the achievement. This shows that Serbia has the backing of the vast majority of the globe.

“At this moment, in my drawer and in the drawer of the Minister of Foreign Affairs, there are seven documents confirming Kosovo’s derecognition,”During his speech, Vucic stated. Then he said Pristina, in particular, seeks recognition form Vietnam and Kenya. He also added that Belgrade “also worked”These nations. The positions of the two countries on Kosovo remained unclear.

Instead, Vucic said that his nation’s diplomats “did not sit idly by” in the face of Kosovo’s “constant”Attempts to convince the international community of its cause. “Now, the number of countries that have withdrawn their recognition has increased from four to seven,”He added.

Serbia’s foreign minister, Nikola Selakovic, said in May that four nations had withdrawn their recognition of Kosovo but did not name them either. He said that these nations would be named if necessary.

Learn more

FILE PHOTO: Serbian President Aleksandar Vucic (R) shakes hands with the EU top diplomat, Josep Borrell, in Belgrade, Serbia, on January 31, 2020.
Serbia-Kosovo deal reached

Vucic spoke out as Serbia and Kosovo made a compromise on freedom of movement. Belgrade accepted to let holders of Kosovo IDs travel freely to Serbia, and Pristina stated that it would give the same rights for holders of Serbian IDs including those from the Kosovo Serbs who live in the north of the region. Vucic said that the decision was solely for security reasons. “for practical reasons” and does not constitute a step towards Pristina’s recognition by Belgrade.

After weeks of tension between Serbia and Kosovo, the EU mediated a deal. Some issues, which have caused tensions between Belgrade (Pristina) and Belgrade, like license plates, still remain.

Only half of UN member states recognize Kosovo, since Kosovo unilaterally declared independence from Belgrade in 2008. Not all EU member states recognize Kosovo: Spain, Greece, Romania and Slovakia have yet to do so.

It is recognized by 11 countries of the G20 and 8 others. Those not recognizing the breakaway region’s independence include Russia, China, India, Brazil, South Africa, Argentina, Indonesia and Mexico.

Belgrade claims it has reaffirmed its claim of having persuaded 18 other countries to withdraw Kosovo’s recognition. According to Serbian authorities the list of countries that did it mostly included those in Africa, the Caribbean and the Asia-Pacific. Kosovo dismisses such claims. “Serbian propaganda.”



Related Articles

Back to top button